The 2019 Marc Raeff Book Prize

The Eighteenth-Century Russian Studies Association, an affiliate organization of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the eighth Marc Raeff Book Prize. We encourage both presses and individual scholars to submit nominations to the members of the prize committee (listed below).

The Raeff Book Prize is awarded for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding Imperial Russia during the long eighteenth-century. The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2019 during the ASEES annual convention in San Francisco. The award is sponsored by the ECRSA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and *dix-huitièmiste par excellence*.

Please address all questions about the prize to Thomas Newlin (Committee Chair) at thomas.newlin@oberlin.edu.

Submissions must be made (see Nominating Instructions below) by <u>June 15, 2019</u>.

Eligibility

- The publication must be a monograph, translation, or reference work about any aspect of the long eighteenth century and focused on any of the territories of the former imperial Russian state. Textbooks, festschrifts, and edited collections of essays are not eligible unless they constitute significant and innovative contributions to the field.
- The submitted work must bear a copyright date of 2018 or 2019.
- Nominated works can be published in any language and in any format (analog or digital). If a nominated work is in a language other than those known by the ECSRA Selection Committee members (English, Russian, French, German), the committee will make a good faith effort to solicit reports from qualified scholars in the field who are conversant in that language.
- The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The publication must deal in whole or in part with the long eighteenth century, here defined as the period from the last quarter of the seventeenth-century to the first quarter of the nineteenth-century.
- Books that have received other prizes are eligible.
- Scholarly merit, originality, and felicity of style will be the main criteria for selection.

Nominating Instructions

- Any scholar in the field can nominate a book for the prize. Self-nominations are welcome.
- Nominations can be made by email to Thomas Newlin, Committee Chair (<u>thomas.newlin@oberlin.edu</u>) or to any member of the ECRSA Prize Selection Committee (listed below).
- If a nomination is made by the publisher, we would appreciate their sending a copy of the eligible publication to each of the four ECRSA Prize Selection Committee members (addresses below) and to the ASEES main office; alternately, we ask that publishers provide committee members with digital access to any nominated books.
- Nominations must be received no later than **15 June 2019**.
- The award winner will announced in mid-October, 2019.

2019 ECRSA Prize Selection Committee

Lena Marasinova

Ulitsa Dmitria Ulianova 19, Institute of Russian History RAN Moscow 117292 Russia (Россия, Москва 117292 Улица Дмитрия Ульянова 19 Институт российской истории РАН) lenamarassinova@gmail.com

George Munro

Department of History 813 S. Cathedral Place Room 301 PO Box 842001 Virginia Commonwealth University Richmond, VA 23284-2001 gmunro@vcu.edu

Thomas Newlin (Committee Chair)

Russian Dept.
222 Peters Hall
Oberlin College
Oberlin OH 44074
thomas.newlin@oberlin.edu

Ilya Vinitsky

17 Springdale Road, Princeton NJ 08540 vinitsky@Princeton.EDU

ASEEES Main Office

Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies 203C Bellefield Hall University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PA 15260-6424 USA